Custom Orders

When I start planning out a scarf, whether it is a custom order or just something I am making to add to my shop, my design and color combinations are often a gamble. I can sketch something 100 times and it may come out exactly as I planned or in some cases, better! Or, it can be a real dud. I always give a great deal of attention to what colors I use, how I put them together, and what pattern will fit with the feel of the design.

I am always so grateful and touched when someone requests a custom order, and I try my very hardest to produce what the customer requests. At the end of the year, I had a custom order for 2 neutral colored scarves. The first, for a woman, was to be lighter in color, mostly ivory, with a mix of browns and tans. The second scarf, for a man, was requested to be about 50% black, with tan and ivory running through it. The following photos are what I came up with. I was very happy with how the two turned out, but I can never be sure if my customers will have the same response to the work as I do (and if someone doesn’t I will ALWAYS be willing to create a redo). But pleasantly, my customer and I were on the same page, and her response to my work just filled my heart with joy! It’s moments like this, moments where someone truly appreciates and enjoys something that came off of my loom, that make me love what I do and thank God for giving me the ability to do it.

IMG_2027 IMG_2050 IMG_2354 IMG_2358

2 thoughts on “Custom Orders

  1. theweaversstudio says:

    Beautiful scarves! I particularly like the lighter colored one – it is the perfect balance of stripes and pattern without being too overwhelming. If you wouldn’t mind, could you share where you got the draft from for the patterned part?

  2. Katelyn says:

    Thank you so much! The draft came from a pattern book called, “The Handweaver’s Pattern Directory”. It has some great 4 shaft patterns in it and I don’t know what I would do without it!

Leave a Reply

