Why Not 100 Percent?

That is a question that I had to ask myself over and over again leading up to October.

To recap, earlier this month Weaving & Weather started a small campaign to help raise awareness and funds for breast cancer. My inspiration for this campaign is my beautiful, caring, strong, faith-driven, 7-year-breast-cancer-surviving (or in all actuality you could say thriving, because seriously, she gave it 110% the whole way through her treatments, and she’s now more fabulous than ever) mom.

If you missed the initial post that launched my Pink Collection (I think I’ve been watching too much Project Runway), you can find it here.

IMG_1870

Back over a year ago when I was still in the process of getting my Etsy shop set up, I knew that I wanted to do something special for Breast Cancer Awareness Month and making a collection of pink scarves to sell and give back the money to a breast cancer charity just felt like the right way to go. So during September while I was making the scarves and really thinking about how I could help, I struggled with how much money I could donate. I really wanted to give 100% of the sales from the scarves to charity, but being such a young business with lots of little over head costs here and there… I just didn’t think my little business could do it. Therefore, I decided that the very most that Weaving & Weather could afford to donate, was 75% of the sales. Which in all honesty, I am still struggling with that as I type these words because it’s been very hard to justify not giving 100%. But I have used my own money along with help from my family to start up this business, and unfortunately my sales didn’t skyrocket at soon as I opened the cyber doors to my company. And registering Weaving & Weather in Germany has had it’s added fees as well.

All this to say, I just wanted you to know that the 15% that I am not donating from each scarf to the Oklahoma Panhandle Chapter of Pink Heals for Breast Cancer Awareness month, is to assist in covering the costs of my materials, packaging, and shipping. I am not making a profit on the Pink Collection of scarves, but in order to come out even, I had to make a business decision.

I hope this doesn’t scare anyone away, or make anything think less of me or my business, but I just needed to be transparent with my customers.

There are still 3 of the 4 Pink scarves available for purchase at weavingandweather.etsy.com. If you would like to help me in supporting Pink Heals for Breast Cancer Awareness, please jump on over to my Etsy shop and take a look! Hopefully in the future, I will be established enough to be able to give that full 100 percent!

Leave a Reply

