New Year, Old Updates

Well, it would appear that I am about 2 months behind on blogging.. I had every intention to write 2-3 different posts in those past two months, but the words unfortunately never made it from my mind to my computer screen.

November and December proved to be very active months in my life. My husband and I took a trip to Chicago to spend Thanksgiving together, sight-seeing and eating deep dish pizza – which was way more delicious than I imagined it to be! November was a bit of a chilly time to make a trip up to the Windy City, especially since we walked everywhere, but the cold weather was only unbearable on Thanksgiving day, which, consequently, was also the day that we spent all morning outside watching the McDonald’s Thanksgiving Day Parade. We may or may not have promptly walked back to our hotel after the parade where we commenced to turning the heat up to 85 and propping up our feet on said heater to thaw them out.

photo-1

With the opportunity to go to the top of Willis Tower (formerly the Sears Tower), visit the Museum of Science and Industry and the Adler Planetarium, walk along the Navy Pier, see some very pretty Zoo Lights at the Lincoln Park Zoo, and walk through the Art institute of Chicago where I was able to view some of my favorite pieces of art in person, we really did have a wonderful time in Chi Town. It was a very fun city to visit, and for once, my Priceline hotel reservation endeavors came to fruition and we actually got a decent hotel downtown at a decent price. Who doesn’t love a great bargain, am I right?

The week after we returned home from our Thanksgiving vacation, I officially opened the Etsy Shop, Weaving & Weather! After struggling with the shop for the past 6 months, I finally had all the components to feel completely comfortable with opening. And It took off way better than I thought it would. In fact, the night I opened, I made my first sale! Before we left for Christmas, I sold 7 scarves, one of which was to someone whom I did not know personally! Which is very exciting, and means that they simply found me on Etsy, liked my work, and ordered a scarf! So, thank you all very much for your support and for your orders! I will be getting back to work this weekend so that I can begin restocking my shop. The near future and our upcoming move may prove for some snags here and there with the shop, but hopefully I can keep things running smoothly (more on that later).

Just a few short weeks later, we made the trip to Oklahoma to celebrate the birth of our Savior with our families. It was great to visit with beloved family and friends. My sweet little niece and nephew have inevitably grown so much since the last time I saw them… Here they are, spending some quality time with their “Bop” (the “grandpa” name given to my Dad by my nephew).

photo-2

After spending the week in Oklahoma, we returned to Ohio, where I worked my last two days, babysitting for a family I have been with for the past 10 months. And that, y’all, about wraps up the end of our 2013! It was a great year that went by too fast, but I am looking forward to what 2014 will bring as my husband finishes up his master’s degree and we get ready for our move to Germany!

Leave a Reply

