Scones!

This weekend…
because I needed a break from weaving;
because college football started and I thought I deserved a treat for having to watch way more football than my body and mind can handle;
because I had to run 8 miles;
and because I had buttermilk in my fridge that needed to be used…

I made scones!

photo-7

I have never made scones before, mostly because they seem intimidating; however, these were incredibly easy to make and supposedly they are “skinny.” I don’t really have a regular recipe to compare them to, but I will take the author’s word for it. And regardless of how skinny they are, these scones are delicious! Probably because they have chocolate chips in them. You can find the original recipe here, but I will also post it below. If you are in the market for a scone recipe for your next brunch, or for anytime really, I recommend giving these a try. Maybe I will host a brunch so I can make them again!

Skinny Chocolate Chip Buttermilk Scones

By SkinnyTaste

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup cold buttermilk
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 tbsp chilled butter (must be cold) cut into small pieces
  • 3/4 cup chocolate chips (I used mini)
  • cooking spray
  • 1 large egg white, lightly beaten
  • 1 1/2 tbsp sugar

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375°. Combine the first four ingredients in a medium bowl, stirring with a whisk. Spray baking sheet with cooking spray.

Combine flour, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl, stirring with a whisk. Cut in chilled butter with a pastry blender, or you could use 2 knives (I used my hands to crumble it together), until the mixture resembles coarse meal. Gently fold in chocolate chips. Add milk mixture, stirring just until moist.

Place dough onto a floured surface and knead lightly four times with floured hands. Form dough into an 9-inch circle onto baking sheet, about 3/4″ thick. Using a knife, cut dough into 12 wedges all the way through.

Brush egg white over dough and sprinkle evenly with sugar. Bake until golden, about 18-20 minutes, depending on your oven. Serve warm.

Leave a Reply

