Update

Sorry it’s been a couple of weeks folks; here at the weaving and weather home front we have a been a little busy, and unfortunately the snow and freezing rain doesn’t slow things down here. I miss those mild Oklahoma winters. I generally always exchange weather information with anyone I talk to in Oklahoma and when the high is in the 20s here its in the 70s there. Now this week is a bad example because it snowed in Oklahoma, but that is how it normally goes. Many of you who live in Ohio might think I am a pansy and call this a mild winter, but it’s lasted way too long and snowed much too frequently for me to call it mild! And I like winter, but just a little bit of it!

Well, as some of you may know, for the past month or so I have been seriously searching for a part time job. And I say seriously because prior to Christmas I had only looked a little bit for a job and wasn’t really too invested in my search. But since the beginning of the year I have handed out several resumes and filled out several application for part time positions. None of which I received call backs from. However, because of some amazing path crossing situations, I have found a job as a nanny for a family that attends the same church as us! I won’t go into the details of how I found the position, but as cheesy as this may sound to some of you, I think this was pretty Divinely Orchestrated because this one job change has helped out 3 families. So starting next week I will be watching 2 sweet little boys – a 3 year old and a 10 month old – 4 days a week. And the boys’ mom is about to go down to part time at her job so that means I will as well. Which actually works out great for everyone, because I was originally searching for part time anyways so I could still have time to work on my business endeavors.

I am so excited about starting this new position. The family is so wonderful, and I’m overjoyed to be able to help them out. After having a short try out last week, I spent a full day with the boys and their mom this week to learn my way around, adjust myself to their schedules, and let the boys get used to me being there. I will go through that once more next week with the mom at home, then I start the next day by myself. I have been looking up games and activities for their ages that I can share with them and trying to get into nanny mode. Oddly enough, I have to say that my nephew (without either of us knowing this) has really prepared me for this position! He is 2 now, and I have had the privilege of watching him in many different stages of his life thus far, and I know that spending so much time with him will really benefit me in taking care of these boys. I feel a little bit nervous, but I also feel really prepared and confident that I can do this. (If I didn’t I wouldn’t have applied for the position!) I love kids and these boys are at such a fun age, I know that this experience will enrich my life and I hope I can somehow make an impact on theirs.

Leave a Reply

