Birthday Dinner

For my birthday in back in September, my mom sent me a Cuisinart Ice Cream and Frozen Yogurt Maker.

IMG_8333

I was so excited to get it as my husband and I were both raised on homemade ice cream being served at family gatherings. Regrettably, I had not used it until last night. Now this isn’t your soak the wooden bucket, ice the salt, big time ice cream making! This is a very simple, small, and easy to use ice cream maker.

IMG_8337

As it was my husband’s birthday yesterday, I decided that I wanted to get out my ice cream making and whip up a batch of vanilla ice cream to help us celebrate. I just used a vanilla ice cream recipe in a little book that came with the ice cream maker and it was wonderful! All I had to do was mix the ingredients, refrigerate the mixture for a few hours, then pour the mixture in the spinning machine and let it freeze for about 20 minutes! So easy, and the ice cream was delicious.

To go with the ice cream I made brownies, which are my husband’s favorite! IMG_8346

I have this recipe called the Perfect Brownies, and they really are! It’s not like a secret family recipe or anything, I got it a few years ago out of a magazine that belonged to one of my college friends. If done correctly, these brownies are perfect; unfortunately, I overcooked mine last night and they turned out a little hard. But all in all, they still taste like brownies, and they were great paired with the homemade ice cream. I will share the full recipe one day, but I’m still a little mad at myself for overcooking my husband’s birthday brownies!

We had a lovely evening at home together last night to celebrate.

IMG_8362

We cooked breakfast for dinner together, then my husband opened his birthday presents from his parents, my parents, and me, and we capped it off with our homemade ice cream and brownies. He seemed to have a good day, and I really enjoyed getting to celebrate with him for the first time in our married life!

Leave a Reply

