Bread Making Adventures

This morning I took a break from weaving to attempt to make bread for the first time ever. I mean, I have made quick bread before, but never bread bread, with the yeast and the raising and whatnot. This recipe of course came from a blog found through Pinterest. One of my sisters made it last week and said it was just as easy and wonderful as the original author made it out to be, so I thought I would go for it. I have wanted to try my hand a bread making for a while now, and have been searching for something easy and low profile to start off with, and let me tell you, that is exactly what this recipe is. And it was husband approved, so that’s always a plus!

The bread is English Muffin Bread and the recipe is from One Good Thing by Jillee. The recipe makes four loaves and it freezes well. I left one out for this week and froze the other three. Using rapid rise yeast, it took just about an hour for my loaves to rise, an there was no kneading involved in the process! Told you it was easy.

IMG_2233

Jillee gives really great instructions so I will let you look at her blog for the recipe if you are interested.

IMG_2236

I thought I could wait until dinner to try a piece, but I couldn’t. It just smelled so good and was sitting there on the cooling racks taunting me, so once it was cooled I toasted up a piece, then covered it with butter and homemade grape jelly (and yes, we are still eating left over wedding favor jelly).

IMG_2238

It was delicious. This warm crispy bread is like a mix between an English Muffin and thick slice of toast.

I just really can’t get over how easy it was. Mind you… the clean up was pretty intensive. This recipe will fill the bowl of a 5 quart Kitchenaid mixer to the very top, thus my mixer had sticky bread dough in all of its crevices. The clean up took longer than the actual making of the bread. But don’t let that discourage you from using this recipe, because it’s worth it. And now I have this delicious English Muffin Bread to eat! So if you are in the market for a quick and easy bread recipe give this English Muffin Bread a try.

IMG_2241

One thought on “Bread Making Adventures

Leave a Reply

