‘Homa for the Holidays

Well, all my Christmas scarf orders are completed. Since the middle of October, I have made 14 scarves! I feel so blessed to have gotten so many orders from my family and friends. As I finished the last scarf in anticipation of going to Oklahoma next week for Christmas, I am reminded of every Christmas from the past 4 years.

Being an art major in college, we seemed to have more final projects rather than final exams. It is this time of year that I would be trying to finish my last drawings and paintings for critique, rushing around the ceramics room to get all my pots in the last glaze firing, and working like a little Christmas elf in the fibers room to finish all my scarves before finals week! Completing my last scarf, I feel like I have just finished finals and I’m waiting for my husband to finish his so that we can head home for Christmas. It seems odd that it’s been a full year since I graduated college. I am definitely still in school mode though, as you can tell! And that is probably due in large part to the fact that my husband is working on getting his masters degree. But I will probably always live my life in semesters. “So what, who care?”

But, I am all ready for Christmas! I literally can barely retain my excitement about going back to Oklahoma next week! This is the longest period of time that I have gone without going back to my home town and seeing my family. C and I are so happy to get to visit with several of our close friends and family members that we haven’t seen in over 6 months. Which I know for some people may not seem like a long time, but for me, right now, at this time in my life, it is. There are so many things that are happening right now in the lives of my family and friends, and I am more than ready to celebrate with them in person! Whether it be belated or not.

And who can forget that this will be our first Christmas as a married couple! Even thought C and I were in a long distance relationship for 4 years, I still was able to see him every Christmas, which was wonderful. But this Christmas, we can open each other’s gifts and make new holiday traditions in our own home. That is something that I have very much been looking forward to!

I hope that you all have a wonderful Christmas. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

