November 26th & 27th

Consistently being thankful is not always easy. In our daily lives there are so many ups and downs that can occur in a matter of minutes. I am reminded of two verses that my mom frequently shares with us whenever things don’t pan out as they should.

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your heart and your mind in Christ Jesus.” – Philippians 4:6-7

“Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance… Blessed is the man who perseveres under trail, because when he has stood the test, he will receive the crown of life that God has promised o those who love him.” -James  1:2-3, 12

We don’t always understand what is happening and why it happens, but it’s reassuring to know that God will give us peace about it and we will be rewarded for our perseverance.

I am thankful that my parents taught us Christian values as we were growing up. I used to be able to memorize bible verses, and I’m not so good at it now, but it is a very important skill to have and my parents are awesome at it! They always know the right verses for the right situations, and I want to be able to give my kids that as well.

And on a completely unrelated note, I am thankful for coffee! While I am probably addicted to it and that may not be the best trait have, I find that slowly drinking a cup of coffee in the morning helps me to get my day started off right. It warms me up and wakes me up, and on these cold early mornings, I am very thankful for that. And I love sharing coffee with friends and family. During college I loved going to get a cup of coffee with friends for the sole purpose of talking for hours over a hot beverage. Also, we get together for family dinners for holidays, birthdays, or anniversaries, we always have a pot of coffee brewing during the meal so that when we finish eating, we can sit at the table a little longer enjoying a cup of coffee. It must be in my blood, because we are all pretty big coffee drinkers!

So I think the theme of this post is that it’s not always easy to come up with something to be thankful for, especially when things go wrong during the day. But it’s still good to stop for a few minutes to find something positive out of the “garbage dump of a situation” that you are going through, and give thanks.

Leave a Reply

