November 24th

Although I love Thanksgiving, I am thankful that we are now starting to get into the Christmas season. I have been crafting for the past week or so to get my apartment ready for Christmas, and on Friday, I could finally put everything up! I feel like you need to let one holiday finish before you start a new one, so I wouldn’t let myself decorate until Thanksgiving was over. The Christmas season just makes me feel so warm and cheerful and I love this time that celebrates the birth of Christ. I love to decorate for Christmas, and buy or make gifts for my close friends and family. And I am especially excited for this Christmas because it will be the first with my husband.

To commemorate our first Christmas together I wanted to make us stockings that we could keep and use every Christmas or until they fall apart. So I found a pattern online that seemed easy and gave very good instructions. [If you are interested, you can find the pattern here.]

I am very happy with how they turned out. And I even made one for our kitty. Her’s was a little more difficult because I just had to make up my own pattern and dimensions, but surprisingly it turned out very nice and well proportioned!

The body is made from natural linen, and the cuffs and body of the kitty’s is made from just a regular cotton fabric I found in the Joann’s Christmas fabric section. I wanted them to have a little bit of a burlap look without using burlap, thus I used the linen. I also wanted to add a first initial of our names and maybe a little more decoration, but I also wanted to put them up as soon as I could! So maybe next year they will receive some improvements, but for now, I am happy with them just the way they are!

We also put up a little tree I got when I was in college. It has no ornaments on it because we are just waiting for Gabby to pull it down and thought it would be less messy if we didn’t have to pick up broken pieces of ornaments! 

And I also made a wreath! Well… I didn’t actually make the wreath, I bought it from Michael’s and then made fabric and burlap flowers to dress it up a bit. And it is now hanging on our front door.

Other than that, I don’t have a ton of Christmas decorations, but I feel like that is something that you acquire over time. And I’m okay with that and will enjoy the decorations that we have. I look forward to this first Christmas with my husband and I am very thankful this season is approaching!

Cheers.

One thought on “November 24th

Leave a Reply

