November 21st

Normally, on this eve of Thanksgiving, I would be home from school for a short break and spending time with my family preparing for the next day’s Holiday meal. This year is a little different, but that doesn’t mean it’s bad. I am excited to get to spend Thanksgiving tomorrow with my husband and our friends, but I am sad that I won’t be with the rest of my family. I talked to my Grandma on the phone this morning, and it made me realize just how much I am going to miss the time spent with family.

Today, I am thankful for my extended family. I love getting to spend time with my grandparents, aunts and uncles, and cousins. Growing up in the same town as many of my family members, we were able to see them quite often, and I am very thankful for that. Family is just extremely important in my family, and we always have a lovely time at our get togethers. And it’s not just for holidays that we would get together, as I grew up in the same church as my mom’s parents and also worked for them over the summers at the service station that they own.  I have spent many Saturdays crafting, sewing, and baking with my grandma, and I enjoyed every minute of it! My cousins were all close in age to my sisters and I; we loved to play together and still have a great time when we get the opportunity to see them. My dad’s side of the family has always lived a little farther away, but we still visited them often as we were growing up and they have been very involved in our lives. I just feel so very fortunate to have such a good relationship with all of my family members! I am thankful for my family, and I can’t wait to see them over Christmas.

Leave a Reply

