November 19th & 20th

Well folks, I did what I told myself I wasn’t going to do. I forgot a day in my thankful journey. I thought about writing a new post several times yesterday, but kept putting it off because I was busy, and then at the end of the night, it just didn’t even cross my mind at all. So since I missed yesterday, today’s grateful moment will serve as a catch up day, which works out well because these two things sort of go hand in hand.

I am thankful for laughter. I love light hearted situations that make me laugh, snicker, and giggle. I feel like no matter how stupid the joke is, it will make me laugh. And I love that I have that ability. Laughter is just good for the soul, and what a sad day it would be to not have anything to laugh about. So I guess it’s a good thing that I have a husband who is a direct line to my funny bone. Sometimes when his jokes are really stupid, I try to cover up how funny I think it is by starting out with a fake laugh, but it always turns into a real one. I’m not very good at hiding my emotions. I think the fact that we as humans can still laugh about things in the midst of all the hustle and bustle that takes place in this world, keeps us wonderfully youthful and healthy.

I am also thankful for just good old fashion conversations. They don’t always have to be funny or serious or particularly insightful, but just a nice exchange of words can be very relaxing. There are times throughout the week that my husband and I are just too tired to talk (more him than me, but he has good reason as for most of the day there are complicated equations running through his head), but other times we could talk for hours. And I absolutely love those conversations. Last night we were both very tired from having busy days and we hadn’t spent a whole lot of time together and we were ready to go to bed. But before we did, we just sat and talked for about an hour and it was just really nice. We didn’t really have any revelations or come up with any plans to solve world hunger, we just talked about random things that probably didn’t have any significance, but it was just nice to not think about the stresses of the day and put our minds on something else.

It’s the simple things like laughter and easy conversations that we often take for granted, but in this season of Thanksgiving, I realize how very grateful I am for them.

Leave a Reply

