November 11th

“On the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month of 1918, an armistice, or temporary cessation of hostilities, was declared between the Allied nations and Germany in the First World War, then known as “the Great War.” Commemorated as Armistice Day beginning the following year, November 11th became a legal federal holiday in the United States in 1938. In the aftermath of World War II and the Korean War, Armistice Day became Veterans Day, a holiday dedicated to American veterans of all wars.”
 

The above is the abstract of an article from History.com. I am not an expert on Holiday origins, but I just wanted to say a little something about it since today we are honoring the veterans of  all wars. I could not have written a better summary than this, which gives an abbreviated insight as to how Veteran’s Day came to be. It’s so great that there is a day to honor our veterans, and I am very thankful for them. I very much appreciate my county and the freedom that I have been given, as I would not have this freedom if it wasn’t for the veterans who risked their lives for this country. I have always respected the U.S. Military and what they have done for America, but being married to a 2nd Lt. in the Air Force makes me even more appreciative and proud of the men and women who serve for our country. Today I am thankful for our Armed Forces, and especially our veterans, as we take this day to remember and honor them.

One thought on “November 11th

Leave a Reply

