November 9th

I am thankful that my husband will eat whatever I make for him, even if I can’t even finish my culinary creations! I like to try new recipes and experiment with old ones and no matter what I put on the table, I know that it will be consumed. Last night I made a recipe that I had found on Pinterest. It was Roasted Corn and Poblano Pepper Soup. Which sounded really good to me! And of course the author of the recipe made it look awesome with the pictures that were taken of the step by step instruction and final product. [And this is in no way, shape, or form, a dig on the recipe or the blogger who created it, she did a very good job of displaying a recipe that she enjoys.] Well, after working pretty hard and following the instructions very closely, which I don’t always do, the soup just didn’t turn out as good as I thought it was going to be. It wasn’t a bad flavor at all, and I enjoyed the first bit of it, but after about 1/4 of my bowl, I couldn’t handle much more. However, my lovely husband, finished his bowl and mine and complimented my efforts!

I think most of my problem with the meal was the texture. The recipe called to transfer it to a blender to combine the ingredients and make it smooth, but in her notes she said that she didn’t blend it all the way and left it with some texture, and I did just that. I think I should have either not blended it at all, or blended it all the way. So again, I think it was a good recipe, I just didn’t love it as much as I thought I would. I wish I would have liked it more, because, minus the small amount of half and half in it, it was very healthy! But, that is why I like to try recipes, so I can taste new things, and try new methods of cooking and challenge my culinary skills. Maybe one day I’ll even make it on chopped! My chances are pretty slim, but I think I could give some other rookies a run for their money. I’m just waiting for the “No Professional Culinary Experiences” Episode to come around.

I am glad that people blog their recipes, and I’m glad that Pinterest was created so that people could easily find new and interesting things to try. And I’m sure that for someone else’s pallet that soup is amazing. It just didn’t work out for me. And C could have easily turned up his nose, poured it down the sink, and had a pb&j instead, but he didn’t. He ate what I made because I made it, and for that I am thankful. And thankful to his parents for raising him that way. It makes my experimentations worth while!

2 thoughts on “November 9th

  1. Cindy Hicks says:

    Do you ever look at the Pioneer. Woman website. Carri uses it a lot. I always loved Southern Living and Cooking Light magazines recipes.

Leave a Reply

