Fall.

I love fall. It is my absolute favorite season. I find it so incredibly amazing and wonderful that our Creator can change the green leaves on the trees to such beautiful golden yellows, rich maroons, and rust oranges.

Ohio has a million trees per square acre, and the changing of the leaves make this time of year very beautiful. Fall is my favorite color, smell, temperature, and taste. And speaking of tastes, I suppose that I just had a hankering for oats this weekend, because I was baking up a cinnamon-y oat-y storm in my apartment on Saturday. Oats and cinnamon seem very autumnal to me.

I had some very ripe bananas that I needed to do something with and so I began my search for “banana oatmeal somethings.”  I made two very simple, yet very delicious oat recipes: Banana, Oatmeal, and Chocolate Chip cookies by Peaceful Plate; and Basic Granola by My Happy Place. [Both original recipes can be found by clicking on the links.] The granola doesn’t have bananas in it, but I thought while I had my oats out and my current stock of granola was getting low, I would go ahead and make a batch.

These cookies were very tasty. They don’t have any flour in them, and they have a little bit of a bread-y texture after they sit for a while; we decided there was nothing wrong with that. Not your typical oatmeal cookies, but they were very good and we unashamedly have already eaten the whole batch… But I mean it only made 20 cookies… so really if you think about it, it’s not that bad, and they are relatively healthy if you ask me!

I changed the recipe just a tad from the original. I used more cinnamon, dark chocolate chunks instead of milk or semi sweet chips, and the original recipe called for agave nectar, which is not something I had on hand so I used a little brown sugar instead. I love oatmeal with cinnamon and brown sugar so that is why I used brown instead of white.

Banana, Oatmeal, & Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 – 1/4 cup of rolled oats
  • 3/4 cup of rolled oats, ground fine in a food processor
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 3 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/8 cup canola oil
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line 2 large cookie sheets with parchment paper, then spray the paper with non-stick spray. In a large bowl whisk together the rolled oats, ground oats, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt. In a medium bowl whisk the banana, brown sugar, oil, and vanilla together. Pour wet mixture into dry mixture. Using a spoon, stir until everything is well combined. Stir in the chocolate chips. Place a heaping tablespoon of batter for each cookie onto the parchment lined pan, leaving at leaving about 2 inches between the cookies. Press the down on them slightly until they are no more than 1/2″ thick. Put 8-10 cookies on each sheet. Bake cookies for 25-30 minutes, rotating halfway through to make sure they back evenly. They should be just slightly golden around the edges. Let rest on pan for a few minutes before transferring to a cooling rack. Makes 16 – 20 cookies.

The next recipe, Basic Granola, I have made two previous times. I pinned it on Pinterest a while back and sort of forgot about it. Then my older sister mentioned making her own and it being very tasty and it was this same recipe that I had pinned, so I decided to try it.

It is very easy to make and tastes so good! My favorite breakfast is vanilla yogurt with granola, so we go through a lot of granola in our home. The recipe calls for coconut, but I leave that out as C and are not particularly fond of coconut.

Basic Granola

Ingredients:
3 c. oats
1/2 tsp. salt
2 tbsp. shredded coconut {for some added yumminess. But feel free to leave it out.}
1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
3 tbsp. oil
3/4 tsp. vanilla
4 tbsp. honey
Directions:
Preheat oven to 350ºF. Grease or line a baking sheet with parchment paper. In a large mixing bowl, combine the oats, salt, coconut, and cinnamon. Add in the oil, vanilla, and honey. Stir until oats are evenly coated. Evenly spread the granola onto the prepared baking sheet. Bake for about 15 minutes or until golden brown, stirring every few minutes so nothing burns. Let cool for a few minutes before transferring to an airtight container.
And now I’m out of oats. And bananas. And cinnamon! But It happens. I’m just happy that I had the ingredients at the time so that I could make my little family these yummy oat packed treats this weekend. I hope that you all had a great weekend, and I hope that the leaves on the ground make you as happy as they make me.
Cheers.
One thought on “Fall.

Leave a Reply

