The Visitors

My sister and brother-in-law came to visit us in Ohio this past week. It was so wonderful to have them here! I had the pleasure of visiting them several times in my last semester of college and the months before my wedding, so it was very nice to be able to return the favor. But mostly, it was just lovely to have family here for the week. My husband has a few weeks off of school as this is what I would technically call his Summer Break, so this was a perfect time to have company.

After driving all night, my sister a brother-in-law arrived here last Saturday morning. We didn’t do much that day, because they were very tired for obvious reasons… But they were troopers from the long night. There is no way you could have put in a car for 14 hours right after work and straight through the night without me being extremely grumpy for the next 24 hours.. at least. Sunday was a pretty big day though. We drive up to Sandusky to visit the acclaimed Cedar Point amusement park, which my brother-in-law had dreamed about going to since he was in 7th grade. I’m so happy that we could help make his dreams come true! I, on the other hand… am not much of an amusement park-er. Fast spinning rides that jerk you from side to side and flip you over and around do nothing for my equilibrium, yet surprisingly, my motion sick stomach did very well! I rode all the rides that everyone else did, sans for one, and didn’t get sick at all! Cedar Point has was feels like 100 roller coasters and many other rides, but the one that it is most known for is the Top Thrill Dragster. This ride… takes you from 0 – 120 mph in 4 seconds, shoots you straight up in the air 420 feet at a 90 degree angle and back down in a grand total of 17 seconds. After stopping and looking at it several times while we were at the park, watching its rise and descent, I was terrified to go on it. But I just felt like it was one of those things that you just have to do. I mean it’s a world famous ride and a world famous amusement park. I couldn’t justify not doing it. So we waited until the end of our amusement park day to go on this ride, and let me tell you…. It. Was. Awesome. I couldn’t believe that I liked this ride! But I totally did, and now I can say that I have done it.

So that was a pretty epic start to the week; we didn’t quite do anything that was that thrilling for the remainder, but we still had a great time. On Monday we took it easy and didn’t really do much. We worked on a puzzle and played with Gabby. Then went putt putt golfing that evening. Tuesday we went to a Cincinnati Reds Baseball game, and before that ate at a diner call Blue Ash Chili that was featured on Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives. Blue Ash Chili is where we learned that Ohio Chili is nothing like Oklahoma Chili! In Ohio they put their chili on pasta and it is not like really chunky and hearty but more of a thin sauce. It was very good chili, just interesting to see the difference (we just got a bowl to share so we could try it, but all ended up getting something without chili). Up to this point I hadn’t noticed much of a different in the food here except for the fact that there is more seafood, but this chili was definitely different than what I am used to. Anyways.. The guy that took our order was extremely nice and stood and talked with us for a while about the chili and his diner. The baseball game was a lot of fun, once we got inside… Earlier that morning I set out the tickets so we would not forget them, which I guess made me in charge of them, which should NEVER happen. But I only blame myself. After we finished our dinner and were en route to the game, someone asked, “who has the tickets?” My heart sank… I walked right past them and left them at home. Which is an hour from Cincinnati. Thank goodness they were tickets that C had printed from StubHub and so we figured they could be printed again. We all got on our phones and searched for the nearest FedEx Kinkos, found one on the way, reprinted the tickets, and still made it to the game 20 minutes early! I don’t know where we would be without technology these days! So my mistake didn’t completely hinder our plans. I think it’s always the events that take a wrong turn that you remember forever. Oh and the Reds won. And gained some new fans.

Wednesday afternoon, the boys went out for 9 holes of golf while the girls got some much needed pampering with mani/pedis and shopping! Then the boys met us for dinner and we went back to the apartment from there. Thursday we got up went to the Zoo in Columbus. It was a really nice and who doesn’t love looking at cute animals all day! After the zoo we went to a Burger place called The Thurman Cafe, which was mentioned on Man vs. Food. They have this one burger called the Thurmanator which was two 12 oz. patties piled on with all the fixings and then some! My description is not doing it justice because it sounded and looked nuts! We were so excited when the man behind us ordered one that we waited until the burger came out of the kitchen before we left just to catch a glimpse! It had to have been almost a foot tall! Maybe not. I don’t know. I’m not good at estimating measurements, but it was big! And I’m pretty sure the waitress knew that we were waiting to see it because she walked by our table with it pretty slowly while we all gawked at it. I regret not asking her to stop to take a picture of it! Would that have been rude? She said that it’s usually like little 90 pound girls that order it and they slick it all off in one sitting. I mostly believe that.

On Friday we just took it easy again. we hung out around the house watching movies and staring at the muddled pieces of our 2nd puzzle that WAS 3/4 of the way done until precious little Gabby helped it slide of the table that morning.. (C and I finished the puzzle yesterday.)

In the late afternoon, we went bowling and then came back to the apartment for dinner. My sister and I made a honey butter pork loin, garlic parmesan mashed potatoes, crescent rolls, and salad. It was delicious! My sister had made the honey butter pork loin before and said that it was very good and she wasn’t lying! It was so tender and flavorful. If you are interested you can find the recipe here.

Sadly, on Saturday My sister and brother-in-law had to leave. We really enjoyed having them here. We have made a few friends since we moved to Ohio, but it was just nice to be with people we really know and love. I’m so glad and feel so blessed that they would want to take their vacation to come visit us. It was such a fantastic week that was really good for my heart. I don’t think that I have really ever had company come visit for a week like that since I have been on my own. I have been a visitor to many people houses and apartments, but I have not really had the opportunity to be the host. I really enjoyed it, and I hope that my sister and brother-in-law enjoyed being here as much as we enjoyed having them.

Leave a Reply

