My House Smells Like Pickles..

I can tell that you are already intrigued, just wait.. this story gets really good.

My Mother-In-Law recently sent us some fresh cucumbers from her garden, which we are extremely grateful because number 1, we love cucumbers, and number 2, home grown are always tastier than store bought. I was afraid that we couldn’t eat all of them before they turned on us though, so I decided I wanted make a small batch of pickles!

I have never made pickles before, but I knew there was probably a quick and easy way out there. I looked up several different recipes and I found one that I thought would suit my cucumber situation. I didn’t want to make a ton, just a small batch. So I found this recipe from Once Upon a Chef. I almost followed the recipe exactly; however, her’s called for coriander seeds and I left those out and added a little extra mustard seeds and a splash of apple cider vinegar.

Homemade Refrigerator Dill Pickles

Servings: About 24 spears, or two 1-quart jars

Ingredients

  • 1-1/4 cups distilled white vinegar (5% acidity)
  • Splash of apple cider vinegar
  • 3 tablespoons kosher salt
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 cups cold water
  • 1-3/4 to 2 pounds Kirby cucumbers (about 6), cut into halves or spears
  • 6 large garlic cloves, peeled and halved
  • 2 teaspoon mustard seeds
  • 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 16 dill sprigs

Instructions

  1. Combine the vinegar, salt and sugar in a small non-reactive saucepan (such as stainless steel, glass, ceramic or teflon) over high heat. Whisk until the salt and sugar are dissolved. Transfer the liquid into a bowl and whisk in the cold water. Refrigerate brine until ready to use.
  2. Stuff the cucumbers into two clean 1-quart jars. Add the coriander seeds, garlic cloves, mustard seeds, red pepper flakes, dill sprigs, and chilled brine into jars, dividing evenly. If necessary, add a bit of cold water to the jars until the brine covers the cucumbers. Cover and refrigerate about 24 hours, then serve. Cucumbers will keep in the refrigerator for up to one month.

These pickles were very easy to make and it only took the cucumbers sitting in the refrigerator for 24 hours in the brine to turn them into pickles! Just as a side note… they are pretty sour. The taste is good, but maybe a little less vinegar or something would have helped them to not have so much of a kick.

Okay.. I promised you a good story.

Well, this morning I decided that I wanted to take a couple of pictures of my pickle jars for this post to prove to you that I really did make pickles! [The opening cucumber photo was taken on the actual day of production.] So after I took the photos this morning I moved the jars back over to the other side of my kitchen, next to the fridge to commence putting them back. And I’m not really sure what happened next… because it happened so quickly, but one jar of pickles was no longer in my hands but shattered all over the kitchen floor.

I literally stood there for a full minute looking at this.

Of course I dropped the jar.. that’s like the story of my life. Silly accidents. After I came out of shock, I laughed at myself and commenced to clean up my mess, while my coffee pot started chirping at me to say it was done brewing. I had dropped a glass pickle jar, before I even had a morning cup of coffee. Unfortunately I always do things like this during the day and I have deduced that it’s because the rational, logical, and careful side of me leaves for school every morning at about 7:20..
Needless to say these poor pickles lived a short life because I decided to not risk eating pickles spears that may or may not be laden with shards of glass. I actually considered washing them off and saving them…  I’m sad that my clumsiness wasted some of those lovely home grown cucumbers. [And for those of you who will try to convince me that I’m not clumsy, please rethink that.. because all evidence is to the contrary!]
I was going to make brownies today.. I’m starting to rethink that. Or maybe I should at least wait until my husband gets home!
Leave a Reply

