Just Another Pinteresting Day.

I absolutely loved planning my wedding. Yes, there were times when I was extremely tired of having to make every decision for everyone, and I may have had a few break downs, but as I look back, everything worked out just how it was supposed to and I loved all of it. I feel like I was planning my wedding in the peak of wedding planning resources. I relied heavily on wedding blogs and Pinterest to help me choose color combinations, hair styles, flower arrangements, attire style and color, decorations, etc. I spent hours looking at wedding blogs and Pinning things to my Wedding Ideas Board on Pinterest. All this to say, I am ecstatic to report that our wedding made it on to one of those blogs!! Our wedding was featured yesterday on Wedding Chicks. My photographer, Justin Battenfield is very diligent in submitting the weddings he shoots to wedding blogs and his photos frequently get chosen. [My sister’s photos also appeared on the blog Emmaline Bride!]

It was kind of a dream come true (since I started looking at wedding blogs a year ago) to have my wedding featured on a blog, so I am incredibly excited that it happened! I hope that the lovely ladies searching for wedding ideas can glean some inspiration from the photos of my wedding. Thanks Wedding Chicks; maybe my wedding will be floating around Pinterest wedding boards.

Speaking of Pinterest… I made another pinteresting recipe last night. It was very good, but man was it a lot of work for such a simple dish! Ya know, you think casseroles are going to be easy peasy, cause it’s like take these ingredients that you always have on hand, put them in a dish, and bake at 350 for 30-45 minutes and your good! Sometimes that is the case, but other times, you have to read the fine print. I made a Cheesy Chicken and Rice Casserole that I pinned from Picky Palate last night. It didn’t have a million ingredients and there was no cream of anything soup involved (which isn’t a deal breaker, but it seemed to catch my eye).  The recipe was very tasty and filling but I spent a good hour just prepping everything! I mean what happened to 30 minute meals! And I don’t always and only make easy dinners, but when you think you are making an easy dinner and it turns out to be a very laborious dinner, it’s not a pleasant surprise. After I all was said and done, I realized that this would be a great dish for when you have left over rice and chicken that need to be used. So I think I would make it again keeping that in mind. During the hour of prep time, I steamed rice, boiled chicken, sautéd veggies, and made a cheese sauce. Which you are probably thinking, that should not have taken me an hour, but I also had to cut the carrots, celery, onions, and garlic, and I was preparing a salad simultaneously. And sometimes I just don’t multi-task very well! [My husband could attest to this, as he saw the floor sprinkled with lettuce, garlic and carrots, a sink full of dishes, and me wiping the sweat from my brow when he stepped into the kitchen.]

Here is the recipe if you would like to try it. I cut this in half sorta… I always feel a need to modify recipes. I don’t know why. And sometimes I think it’s silly to measure things.. like oil and salt and pepper. In my opinion you can use less than 3 tablespoons of oil in order to sauté veggies, but to each his own. This seems really like one of those recipes that doesn’t need to be exact. Sometimes I think it’s pretty hard to mess up a casserole.

Cheesy Chicken and Wild Rice Casserole

3 Tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

1 medium onion, finely diced

3 stalks celery, finely diced

3 carrots, peeled and diced

2 Tablespoons fresh minced garlic

2 Cups shredded, cooked chicken breast

2 Cups steamed white rice

16 oz prepared wild rice 

1 teaspoon kosher salt

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

1/4 teaspoon garlic salt

Cheese Sauce

4 Tablespoons butter

1/4 Cup all purpose flour

1/4 teaspoon kosher salt

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

2 Cups chicken broth

2 Cups shredded cheddar cheese (I used monterey jack cheese)

1 1/2 Cups shredded cheddar cheese (to top casserole with)

Instructions

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Heat oil into a medium dutch oven or pot over medium heat.  Saute onion, celery and carrots until softened, about 10 minutes.  Stir in garlic and cook for 1 minute.  Stir in chicken, both rices, salt, pepper and garlic salt.  Reduce heat to low.

2.  To prepare cheese sauce melt butter into a medium saucepan over medium high heat.  Whisk in flour, salt and pepper then slowly pour in chicken broth whisking continuously.  Whisk until thick and nearly boiling then stir in cheese until melted.  Pour cheese sauce into rice mixture then transfer to a 9×13 inch baking dish. Top with additional cheddar cheese and bake for 25-30 minutes or until cheese is melted through.  Serve.

8-10 servings

Leave a Reply

