From One “O” State to Another.

This past weekend, I was able to travel back to my home state to help my sister and brother-in-law move into their first house! Buying your first home is a very monumental step and I was ecstatic that I could share in the experience with my sister and family. Almost the whole family came down for the big move! My parents, my oldest sister with her husband and son, my grandparents, my cousin with his girlfriend and roommate! And it doesn’t stop there, my brother-in-laws parents were there, and my aunt who lives in the same down got to take off work for a day and spend time with us as well. Believe me, we were quite the crew when it came to eating at restaurants. Anyways, everyone was a huge help to my sister and brother-in-law. We literally had everything unpacked and set up in one day. And they house is amazing! They got a really great deal on a 4 bedroom house in a good neighborhood, close to both of their workplaces.

This was the first time that I had been back to Oklahoma since my husband and I moved here. It’s kind of ironic that I used to live close to my family and travel to see my boyfriend/fiancé (currently my husband), but now I live with my husband and I have to travel to see my family. I went from one extreme to the other literally overnight. It’s definitely bitter sweet to have one and not the other. I love my husband, and I am overjoyed at the fact that after 4 years of a long distance relationship we finally get to be together, it just is a little sad that his job brought us a good 4 states away from our families. But at the same time, if he wasn’t in the Air Force, then I know we would be missing out on a ton of really great experiences. I never would have chosen to live in Ohio in my own! And who knows where we will end up living over the next 5 years.

This past weekend was the fist time my husband and I were away from each other since we became man and wife. I am so glad that I was able to see my family again, and spend the weekend with them. Although Oklahoma is too ridiculously hot and I am now thankful for the Ohio temperatures, we had a great time together and I was more than happy to help with the move. It’s ironic that My husband and I usually only saw each other every one to two months and most of the time it was just for a weekend and we made it through 4 years of that without going crazy. I just spent like 4 1/2 days without him, and had like a 30 minute break down in the Chicago airport when I missed my connecting flight because I was so ready to get back home to him. And wanting to go home had nothing to do with my family, just to clarify. I love my family. But I also love my husband, and I this for those 4 1/2 days that I couldn’t play my role as “wife” kinda got to me.

 

Today, I’ll leave you with this moment… this joyous moment was when I realized that instead of being picked up then dropped off at the air port by my fiancé to visit for the weekend, I would forever more be dropped off, then picked back up by my husband to get home.

Leave a Reply

