Recipes

I have been hoarding recipes for different dinners, snacks, desserts, and healthy treats since I lived in my first place that had a kitchen in college. I just like to try new things out so that I don’t get stuck in a rut. But my rut would be quite delicious in my opinion because it would probably consist of a rotation of quesadillas, pasta, and oatmeal. I could even do without the pasta and oatmeal.. If you just gave me tortillas, cheese, salsa, and guac, I would be a happy lady. However, I can see how that would get a little old for Husband, even though he is pretty easy to please. He has assured me every week as I’m making out the menu that he will eat whatever I fix for him [at least once]. He is very generous in this way as I am able to try out my new recipes found from random blogs through hours on end of scrolling through Pinterest. Man, if I got paid by the hour for “pinning” things….. anyways.. I digress.

As much as I love trying out new recipes, it always makes me a little bit nervous. Yes, all the ingredients are things that I can imagine would be good together, but sometimes you never know! It could turn out like the nasty mush of gruel that the orphans had to eat in “Oliver.”  I tried several new things this week though. We got this really nice Slow Cooker Cookbook as a wedding gift and I have been trying some things out in there. On Thursday, I made slow cooker Sweet and Sour Pork. It’s silly, but all week I was fretting over it… I kept thinking, what if it doesn’t work, or what if it turns out all weird and it doesn’t taste good and then I wasted perfectly good pork steak! (The recipe actually called for pork loin, but I had pork steak on hand.) Well, it turned out great! I mean.. it was kind of a lot of work to get ready, but the great thing about cooking with a crockpot is that once it’s prepped, you don’t have to do anything else with it! Something else I made, just this evening in fact, was an Enchilada Lasagna I found here. I also worried about this recipe, but it looked fool proof and I think it’s pretty hard to mess up a Mexican casserole. It made a huge casserole so I actually split it up and froze half for another time. Which I don’t regret, because the casserole was very good in my opinion. I don’t have any photos of my recipe endeavors from this week, but I would like to share the Lasagna recipe. I changed it a little from the original recipe and added some things in there, so I’ll include my notes.

Enchilada Lasagna

Ingredients:

1 lb chicken breast, chopped to bite sized pieces (I had only about 1/2 lb. so I supplemented with a can of black beans and a can of corn, which was quite a nice addition if I do say so myself)
5 cups of mexican blend cheese (I don’t think I actually used this much cheese, but I didn’t measure)
1 can of cream of celery
1 can of cream of chicken
1 1/2 cups sour cream (I probably only had 1/2 cup of sour cream, and it worked out just fine)
1/4 cup canned and chopped green chillies
small corn tortillas
1 tsp cumin
2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper

Step 1: Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Step 2: Cook the chicken in a little bit of oil until done all the way through, seasoning with salt, pepper, and cumin.

Step 3: In a bowl, combine “cream of” soups, sour cream, and green chillies (and a little more cumin).

Step 4: Grab a bowl of water, to dip the corn tortillas in as you assemble.

Step 5: Spread some of the cream mixture around in the bottom and top with tortillas; it’s okay if they overlap, mine had to or I would have only have two tortillas in the whole casserole. Layer on some more cream mix, chicken, corn and black beans, and top with shredded cheese. Repeat until you run out or get to get the top of your pan. (I only had two layers but the original blogger said she got three. And I used two 8 x 8 pans, but it would probably make a great 9 x 13 casserole.)

Step 6: Stick the lasagna in the oven and bake for about 20 minutes. I wanted my cheese on the top to crisp up just a little bit more, so after it baked 20 minutes, I switched my oven to the broiler setting and left it in another minute or two.

I definitely approved and since Husband will eat anything, he approved too, I guess! I wish I had a photo to share with you, but I mean… just picture it for yourself: an 8 x 8 casserole dish filled to the top with creamy Enchilada Lasagna goodness topped with a marbled pattern of  yellow and white cheese bubbling on the top, and tell me that doesn’t sound like something you would eat!

Like I said.. cheese and tortillas = happiness in the Weaving and Weather home.

Leave a Reply

