Strength for my Hands

I spent most of yesterday in quiet anticipation of my weaving supplies being delivered to my door. I almost didn’t want to leave my house to go grocery shopping just in case the UPS man came. I ended up running to Krogers very very quickly and still nothing was waiting for me when I returned. The UPS tracking told me that my package was on the truck, out for delivery, but I was starting to think that they were just teasing me. Until there was a knock on my door while I was making dinner. I was so excited to get my package that contained the tools I needed to start my first weaving project!

So, I now have my very own wooden shuttle! There is something about a wooden shuttle that is just so beautiful to me. Probably because I can see it’s potential.

 

I just almost can’t even believe that I have my own loom and shuttle to get started on my very own weavings! And to think, I only took two semesters of fibers in college, and now owning a loom is my dream come true. When I think back to how little weaving I did in school, it’s crazy to think that it’s what I feel most passionate about.

My husband and I are working on making a warping board, and that is the final step before I can begin my first project. So, I started to work on figuring up my fiber calculations last night. It’s a little bit stressful, because I’m terrible at math, and my fibers professor has always been there to check things out, and help me every step of the way [or pretty much do my math for me because I would just look at her with blank eyes when she would try to get me to calculate things in my head]. I was very diligent in checking with her to make sure I had every little detail right! It wasn’t until my last couple of projects in school that I realized I needed to get out of that habit because one day I would have to do it on my own. And here I am. I am going to check and recheck myself on my calculations, and of course I know that I could probably still run to my professor if I really get into a fit of panic! But I am going to try my hardest to work it out on my own, with my brainy husband checking my multiplication along the way.

As I was going through my bible study on Nehemiah this morning, I read a verse that really stuck with me: (Nehemiah 6:9) “But I prayed, ‘Now strengthen my hands.'” Unlike Nehemiah, I am not facing great opposition and threats from rebuilding the wall around Jerusalem, but I am getting ready to start working with my hands on the high craft of weaving. I know, there’s not much comparison there, and I am not trying to make it sound like I am rebuilding a city, but I do need strength to complete the work that I believe God has blessed my hands to do.

Leave a Reply

